Cover Reveal: Nature’s Fifth Season

NaturesFifth_CVR 2

Description:

Four short stories and one novella from author Michelle Muto.

Eleanor
Two teens meet their match during a home invasion when they encounter the elderly homeowner.

The Goblin
An eight-year-old boy ponders the rules of monsters and the creature that lives under his bed.

Crossroads
A midnight trip across a desolate highway takes a husband and wife farther than they expected.

Dear Maddy
During a winter-long stay at a remote mountain cabin, a man writes letters to a ghost and soon begins to question his sanity.

Touch
Everyone needs a second chance. The heartfelt story of a young girl, an abandoned dog, and the unbreakable bond between them.

Release date:
January 13th, 2015

Cover artist: Steven Nowak

I’ve always loved short stories. I’m as much of a reader as I am a writer. To me, novels from authors I love are like major feature films and short stories are like episodes of my favorite shows. In this collection, each story takes place in a different season: spring, summer, fall, winter, and something I call nature’s fifth season.

I wrote short stories long before I ever wrote novels. Three are in this collection: Eleanor, The Goblin, and Crossroads. I gutted them and rewrote each from ground up, but they are essentially the same at heart.

Two are new: Dear Maddy and Touch.

I wrote The Goblin and Crossroads while in college. I remember sitting around with my mother and sister one afternoon, discussing childhood fears. Mine was always the monster under the bed. So The Goblin is for my mother and sister. Crossroads was a short story assignment my college professor gave us two days before semester finals. He told us the beginning of the story, which was about a trip he and his wife took across a stretch of  Florida highway known as Alligator Alley. It was our job to finish it. I asked if he wanted to live or die in the story. He asked what kind of grade I wanted. I hope that you’ll read the story to see how it turned out.

Eleanor was a short story I wrote and submitted to an anthology back when I was part of the Horror Writer’s Association. Sadly, back then, membership rules were a bit different. I wasn’t published, and therefore I couldn’t get published. *shrugs* Eleanor’s character resurfaced as a teacher in my first novel, The Book of Lost Souls as Ivy MacTavish’s English teacher.

Dear Maddy. For a while now, my agent and I have talked about dark thrillers. I came up with Dear Maddy while working on ideas to present to him. This one is for you, Scott.

Touch. This is the heart of the collection You’ve heard me say that I often write with the reader in mind. Well, this one I wrote for me, guys. This story is personal. On Tuesday, I’ll tell you why.

Available at these retailers:

Amazon

B&N

iTunes

Kobo

Books A Million

2 thoughts on “Cover Reveal: Nature’s Fifth Season

  1. The cover is really beautiful, Michelle! Gorgeous, more like it!!! And the synopsis sounds really good as well. I believe this one will sell like hot cakes! 🙂

Leave a Reply

