#TellMeAGhostStory A Heaviness by Jonathan L. Cory

1378615_579311588795078_2021446912_n

Mirror, mirror on the wall. Who had the scariest story of them all?

Fan and reader Jonathan L. Cory. Here’s Jonathan’s creepy experience in a small town in an old church:

We have a small town back home that is known for a history of witchcraft. A good friends family took over a small church in that town so I spent a lot of time around there. Pulling all nighters in the church basement never really thinking about the stories. One night in the spring we were in the basement just hanging out, the only lights we had were the exit signs and the moon light through the basement windows, the rest of the building was dark. Around 2:00 in the morning we started just talking about whatever, no rhyme or reason. As we talked the temperature of the basement slowly started dropping. We didn’t think anything of it, we were in a brick basement, in the spring, in Michigan. Being chilly is normal, but not this chilly, not this cold. We threw on our jackets and kept talking, but it got colder. I thought maybe a window was open or even the exit door so we decided to check, but everything was closed and locked. No breeze, no drafts just cold. I shrugged it off but there was an uneasy feeling and we both felt it. We just sat down but did’t say a word because the feeling got stronger. It was just this strange heavy feeling, we couldn’t talk. I looked at my watch, not sure why but I did. 3am. We looked at each, he had checked his watch when I did. For how long I don’t know but we just sat, in the cold, in the dark, not speaking, just this heavy feeling. Then it, what ever it was, was gone. Just gone. The cold, the heaviness, gone.

I have always been a fan of the paranormal, Halloween, and generally things that go bump in the night. I’ve been to and helped out at haunted houses, haunted hayrides and just enjoy scaring people. My nickname for paintball and airsoft is even Grave.
-Jonathan L. Cory

562294_10201179170374209_966735105_n

1374116_10201179170974224_266887009_n

Looking for more Halloween goodness? Check out the 2013 Coffin Hop. Over 60 horror writers with excerpts, interviews and prizes! Yep. Every one of them has a prize. Check out the authors HERE.

Have your own ghost story to tell? Enter the #TellMeAGhostStory contest. Tell the best ghost story (fact or fiction) and I’ll host you and your story on my blog next week. Here’s how it works:

1. On my FB Author Page, start off with a title, preferably in caps. Then tell me a ghost story of 999 words or less. Of course, it can be any story of the macabre, fact or fiction.

2. The story with the most Likes by Monday wins. I’ll announce the winner here, and then you’ll need to message me your email. Your story will appear on my blog that Thursday.

3. Tweet or share to encourage others to find your spine-tingling masterpiece.

Tweet (be sure to replace the brackets and items to fit your story):

Read my entry & vote for me in #TellMeAGhostStory

Rules are simple: You must be the original author. Stories should be kept to 999 words or less. No links, no continuation posts, and stories must be complete.

Ready? It’s time to tell the tale.

4 thoughts on “#TellMeAGhostStory A Heaviness by Jonathan L. Cory

  1. Small towns have more than their share of ghosts. Ever notice you can’t find a ghost story in city apartments or a posh hotel?

Leave a Reply

