Indie 400: Stephanie Keyes

Checkered flag

Hey guys! It’s been a while since we last had someone on the Indie 400. What’t that? It’s like the Indy 500 and the Daytona 400, but with words. It’s a great way to get a taste of a book and the writer behind it. Plus, there are always cool cars.

Today, we’ve got a GREAT teaser for you. So, sit back, read, and then go check out more about today’s author.

The-Star-Child

Name: Stephanie Keyes

Book Title: The Star Child

Genre: Paranormal Romance

What drives you as a writer?

Coffee, chocolate, and the constant need to escape from reality.

Okay, Stephanie! It’s time for  The 400:

The search began again on foot, the trees far enough apart that we could walk side by side. There was barely enough light until Calienta held up a lantern. Its bright light helped guide us, rendering the dark less intimidating. The only sound came from a small silvery brook that ran alongside the path. Though we could have taken a different direction, there was an unspoken assumption between us that the stag would come to the brook to drink. We stayed with the brook.

“How are you doing?” It was a lame question, perhaps the worst one that can be asked when someone loses a father. I didn’t know what else to say, though, because I hadn’t missed Stephen in years. Decades.

She understood my meaning. “I can’t think of it. I can’t see it as real.” She didn’t look at me when she spoke, keeping her gaze trained on the land around us.

“Obviously I have no idea what you’re going through.”

She stopped then and touched my arm. “Kellen. You don’t see it but you know what I am going through. It was you who lost his father before you were even born. You were denied the hope, the chance for a father. You know.”

I needed a safer topic then. “Will the Glacadóir Anam find us here?

Calienta opened her mouth to speak, but I didn’t get a chance to hear the words. My legs collapsed underneath me and I felt myself starting to fall toward the ground. Bound like a rope had been wrapped around me, I found myself unable to move my arms or legs. My chin slammed into a flat rock on the snowy ground. Blood seeped into my mouth from the spot where I’d bitten the inside of my cheek. Its rusty flavor made me sick.

Stupid. I’d been stupid and careless talking about the creature out loud. I’d probably alerted it to my presence simply by speaking its name.

Taking advantage of the situation, I grabbed the knife from my jeans pocket and lunged forward. The knife had helped me so far. Would it work to destroy the Snatcher? The creature hissed at my attempt but nothing changed. If anything I’d angered it more, made it more determined to take me out. Anticipating the Snatcher’s actions, I reached into my pocket before my legs started to go numb, and threw a handful of salt blindly into the air.

And Steph takes the flag!

Indie 400 Trophy

What car would you like to take for a spin out of the Indie Garage today, Stephanie?

A 1965 Aston Martin DB5 Vantage Convertible! I’m swooning just thinking about it!

images-1

Yeah! Awesome choice. I can totally see Stephanie behind the wheel. Can’t you?

steph4bw_Small

Learn more about Stephanie and her work:

Website http://www.stephaniekeyes.com/

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Stephanie-Keyes/e/B006GEJZ8C

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5360651.Stephanie_Keyes

12 thoughts on “Indie 400: Stephanie Keyes

  1. An interesting little excerpt. I love the cover. I think it speaks a thousand words, along with a great title. I’m putting it on my long list of “Must Reads”. Thanks Stephanie and Michelle!

  2. Great feature! I’m not a car kinda girl, not being a driver as such, but I always fancied a red Porsche convertible of some description. Loved The Star Child, can’t wait for The Fallen Stars! XXX

Leave a Reply

