Indie Spotlight: Jonathan Dunne

It’s been a little while since I’ve done an Indie Spotlight. It’s about time, right? Today I have author Johnathan Dunne on the blog. Give him a warm welcome! I think you’ll find Johnathan has a GREAT sense of humor.

BIO:

Admittedly, Jonathan has done things arse-ways most of his life, from completing a BA in Literature in his thirties to fitting teeth brackets (30’s, porcelain). During this general confusion, Jonathan has written and published a variety of short stories. He suffers from photophobia though has a tendency towards fireworks. Originally from Limerick, Ireland, he now lives the reclusive life in Toledo Spain, as a bearded hermit, with his wife and two daughters.

INTERVIEW:

M: When did you decide to become an indie author?

J: When I was in my mother’s womb where I used my umbilical cord as a crude writing implement to mark down my days of gestation. This umbilical cord comment has caused controversy in the past, people arguing that it’s not my cord but my mother’s.  This needs to be addressed.

M: Any advice to new indie authors?

J: Yeah, get it out there. No good sitting on your shelf or on your hard-disk – if stories sit on hard-disks.  Be persistent. Writing is either in your blood or it isn’t. You’ll soon know…

M: Your favorite part about being an indie author?

J: Freedom: to put my own stuff out there and let the public decide rather than a literary agent/mainstream publisher who decides for them. Also, many indie authors are crazy. Because of this we are not responsible for our actions.

M: How did you come up with the idea for your book?

J: For me a book is a dot-to-dot activity page.  I will come across things in my life that stand out. I mentalize (mentalize??) them. Now, I’ve got a series of dots. With a little luck, I can join them up with a narrative plot that gives the bigger picture. The seed for my book came when my 6 yr-old let go her balloon she’d picked up somewhere and it soared up over town. She cried of course but I told her that her grandmother was up there somewhere to catch it. (My mother passed away in 2009).

M: What do you think readers will appreciate most about your book?

J: The characters and Jonny’s earnestness in returning his grandfather’s dying breaths to Iowa in the birthday balloon.

M: Who is your favorite fictional character and why?

J: Possibly Ignatius J. Reilly.

M: Tell us a bit about your writing process.

J: I repeat a mystical mantra and induce myself into a state of delirium.

M: Most unique or unusual research you’ve ever done for a book?

J: Subscribed to be abducted by aliens. It was during the early years and I liked science fiction.

M: What is your greatest writing strength?

J: The ability to fool myself.

M: Can you tell us a little about your journey to publication?

J: It’s a long and windy road really. I don’t have enough gas in the tank.

M: What biggest change would you say the publishing world has taken lately? Any predictions?

J: This is a time of revolution. That’s all I can say.

M: What is the hardest part about writing?

J: Having faith, especially if you’re first book didn’t do well.

M: Who are your favorite authors?

J: Dickens.

M: If your book became a movie, who would star in the title roles?

J: Zach Galifianakis as Jonny Rowe or maybe Michael Cera.

M: If you could meet any author who is no longer living, who would it be?

J: Dickens.

M: If you could have written any book, which one would it be?

J: Balloon Animals

M: Why did you decide to write in this genre?

J: Comedy is something that I have a natural bent towards and it plays havoc with my sciatica.  I’ve tried other genres but I always feel alienated from my writing. I once sent a thriller to a London agent and she asked me if it was a parody of a thriller. That was the turning-point.

M: Best and worst writing tip you’ve learned?

J: Best tip: sit down when you write.

Worst tip:  stand up when you write.

M: Can you tell us a little about your next project?

J: Living Dead Lovers (My Sick Romance) is about a half-gypsy psychic medium who falls in love with one of her dead clients.

M: Upon your death, what would your most evil villain say at your funeral?

J: He would sing “I did it My Way” in Sinatra’s best evil villain voice.

M: If you could do one thing over again in regards to writing, what would it be?

J: To start at the beginning and work my way forwards.

M: Who is your biggest supporter?

J: My wife, Ruth and two my two little munchkins, Maia and Chloe.

M: What are your top three writing tools?

J: Hammer, chisel,  goggles.

LOL! See? I told you he was funny!

Where can you find more about Johnathan and his work?
Twitter @ WriterJDunne
Facebook @ jonathan.dunne.505

Blog 

Amazon US

7 thoughts on “Indie Spotlight: Jonathan Dunne

  1. Pingback: Check this word-exchange with Michelle Muto « The Comic & The Quirk

  2. Loved your book Jonathan, looking forward to your next offering. Have you a natural funny bone? Can you draw on humour from your background? Your new book sounds a bit weird – in a weirdly good way – can’t wait!!!! I live in Surrey where the rain is also falling, but mainly on my head – I’ve lost 3 umbrellas. Best of luck with your new book.

Leave a Reply

