Author Spotlight: Catriona Crehan

I remember uploading my first book. It was both terrifying and exhilarating. My book was finally out into the hands of readers! Well, sort of. How to find those readers? I’m still struggling with the answer to that question, but I believe that other authors and bloggers can help spread the word. Today, I’m happy to host Catriona Crehan and her debut novel, The Color Keepers.

Grab a drink and come back. We’ll wait. Then, read on to discover a new author who deserves to get her name out there.

How did you come up with the idea for your book?

 Actually, I was having a nightmare the night before I started writing the book.  My dream was actually very detailed and I remembered every bit of it. Of course looking back, the dream was different from what the book has become now, but it’s what gave me the inspiration.

What do you think readers will appreciate most about your book?

I think the fantasy aspect of it for sure. It has a lot of heart and character, and my goal was to make the reader feel as if they were experiencing what was going on themselves.

  Who is your favorite fictional character and why?

I would have to say the character James – He was a lot of fun to write and his sarcastic attitude and way of telling people exactly what he felt was refreshing. It was almost like being able to tap into a different side of my personality.

If your book became a movie, who would star in the title roles? 

Wow. That’s a hard one. I certainly would have to say…Hailee Steinfeld (True Grit) playing the lead of Emily. I love her acting. As far as the other main characters. I would imagine Sam being played by Jackson Rathbone (Twilight, Last Airbender), James would definitely be Asa Butterfield. The Crow Queen, the most evil villain in the whole book, that would be hard to say right now. She would be the MOST important to me and it would be hard to find someone who fits what I think.

Best and worst writing tip you’ve learned?

 I’d say the best tip I’ve heard is to just walk away from it. Go on a walk, do an activity. Whatever you do, don’t think about it. Take time away. If you don’t then you’re just going to end up forcing it.  The worst tip would be all these home treatments like drinking things and eating things that “clear your head”.

It’s actually quite funny.

Can you tell us a little about your next project?

 I’m actually currently writing a vampire book. It’s definitely not anything like the books recently. It’s very true to real vampires, coffins, sunlight, the whole ball of wax. I don’t want to give away the plot line too much but, it involves hunting them down for the purpose of revenge.

Who is your biggest supporter?

 Definitely my grandma, if it wasn’t for her pushing me to finish it, I probably wouldn’t have published it and it would still be sitting on my desktop.

Vanilla or chocolate?

Vanilla

Favorite quote:

 “Guns, that’s the way dad did it, that’s the way America does it, and it’s worked out pretty well so far” – Iron Man

Cats or dogs?

Both.

Coffee or tea?

 Tea

 Early riser or dirty stay-up-all-nighter?

 … I’m definitely a night owl.

Food you like the most? The least?

 Macaroni and hot dog slices – LOVE them 🙂

I hate Brussel Sprouts… YUCH!

 Word from the dictionary that gives you the giggles?

 Buttresses

Thanks for joining us today, Catriona! And everyone else? Take a moment to check out The Color Keepers and to connect with Catriona.

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/The-Color-Keepers-ebook/dp/B007S5PUR8

Twitter: http://twitter.com/catrionacrehan

FB: http://facebook.com/catrionacrehan

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Author Spotlight: Catriona Crehan

Leave a Reply

