Indie Feature: Destined

It’s the weekend! Which for a lot of us, means reading! Here’s a little something to whet your reading appetite from fab author Jesse Harrell.

Premise:
When Psyche receives a prophecy gone horribly wrong, she learns that even the most beautiful girl in Greece can have a hideous future. Her fate? Fall in love with the one creature even the gods fear.

As she feels herself slipping closer into the arms of the prophecy, Psyche must choose between the terrifyingly tender touch she feels almost powerless to resist and the one constant she’s come to expect out of life: you cannot escape what is destined.

And now for the teaser:
On the back cover of the novel, I give a little three-sentence preview of scene where Psyche meets the “creature” for the first time. For those of you who are curious, here’s a bit more from that scene:

As he approached, I heard the flapping of wings, like an overgrown eagle. The sound dissolved as he landed at the edge of the open window. A rush of wind flew past me and extinguished the flames in the fireplace. Stars glowed behind him but his figure was encircled in black.
As he came in, Alexa released my hand. How can she leave me now? Behind me, I heard her close the door as she slipped out of the room.
Although I couldn’t see him, I was too scared to look away. I wanted to peek behind the darkened cloud surrounding his body so badly. I peered at him, trying to focus on any features I could define. I needed to see his face, however hideous. What was he hiding? Was he really as repulsive as the Pythia had warned?
Panic swelled through me as I stood to face my captor. I’m not sure how I kept my legs from following Alexa out the door. When I looked back over my shoulder to see how far it would be if I decided to make a run for it, he slipped in front of me and pulled my hands into his.
I choked back a startled gasp, horrified by the creature holding my hands as softly as if I could crumble.
“Look at me, Psyche.” His voice was hypnotic, almost familiar. I stared into the blackness surrounding his form and found a pair of lovely blue eyes gazing out at me. “I know you fear me, but I beg you, believe that I will never hurt you.”
“Why won’t you show yourself then? If there’s nothing to fear?”
His voice came back to me compassionate, but firm. “I didn’t say there’s nothing to fear. I said I’d never hurt you. Don’t confuse the two.”
That good old I’m-about-to-puke feeling made me wish I hadn’t eaten every bite of food on my plate tonight. I reached back for the bed, easing myself down as I tried to figure out what could possibly be scarier than the invisible beast in my new bedroom. Or who else wanted to hurt me now that I’d already been condemned to a fate worse than death.
He reached a satiny, smooth hand to my face and let his finger trail from my cheek down my jaw line. “Psyche, I am no monster. I love you, and I will love you always.”
“You don’t even know me,” I shrieked, swatting away his hand. “How could you possibly love me?” Hurt registered in those soft blue eyes and he blinked them closed for what felt like an eternity. “Who are you?” I finally whispered.
His eyes popped back open with a glimmer of hope. Like I’d just thrown a life line to a drowning man. “Aristeo, but please, call me Aris.”
That wasn’t exactly what I’d meant, but I coudn’t hold the literal answer against him. “Okay, Aris,” I paused, sucking in a deep, jagged breath and steeling myself to ask the real question, “what are you?”
“You cut right to the chase.” His darkened shape retreated a few steps until it looked like he must be sitting on the stool in front of my silver vanity. I welcomed the extra space between us, but the weight of those eyes I knew were watching me from across the room still felt intensely heavy.

Jesse would keep going, but the next sentence reveals what manner of creature Aris is and well… you’ll just have to read the book to find out!

Destined Links:

Amazon

Book Depository

Smashwords

Nook

Kindle

Social Media Links:

Blog: http://jessie-harrell.blogspot.com
website: http://www.jessieharrell.com
Twitter: twitter.com/jessieharrell
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/JessieHarrell.Author

2 thoughts on “Indie Feature: Destined

Leave a Reply

