Why I Write – And A Little Appreciation

Why do I write?

I write because I love the way words swirl onto the screen, creating new worlds, new characters. New stories. I love the journey that the words take me on. Words are like a roller coaster. They’re part of the ups and downs and twists in my stories and when I get to the end, I want to get back in line and do it all over again.

Except when I don’t.

Like all writers, I have days and weeks where I struggle with words. They don’t come out the way I hope. The motivation isn’t there. Life gets in the way or tries to beat you down. On these days I try doing something else, like spend more time with family, do household projects. But, after a few days or a few weeks roll by, I start to feel worse. I force myself to sit down and write, and the words do come. Some of them aren’t too bad. Others are pretty good. Still, there are times I wonder why I even bother.

Except that like all dedicated writers, I have to write. It’s what I do. It’s like breathing.

Then, there are days like today when I wake up and find that people are talking about my book. Specifically, Don’t Fear the Reaper. I read a couple of tweets on Twitter this morning. One of them mentioned that there were discussions about Reaper on Goodreads. Really? To a writer, finding out there are discussions on Goodreads, the Kindle forums, Amazon, or B&N is enough to make the heart race. I clicked on the link and at first, found nothing. Then, I read a couple of 5-star reviews I hadn’t read before. People were actually commenting! And in a good way! Before I could pass out, I found more comments on more reviews – all saying the same thing: how much they loved Don’t Fear the Reaper. Now, I’m almost in tears from happiness.

But, that’s not all. The second tweet on Twitter was from Shana over at Sizzling Reads. If you’ve never been to Sizzling Reads, you should. It’s a great review site. Shana is professional in her reviews and she always adds a personal touch. The reviews never sound like a book report. Anyway, I digress. Back to the tweet. Don’t Fear the Reaper was named The Indie-Limelight Choice for December. Before you go over to read what Shana wrote, I’d like to say one more thing…

Everyone’s words invoked the reason, the joy, the very heart of why writers write. No, it’s not just about Don’t Fear the Reaper being selected for the Indie-Limelight choice, although I can’t tell you how honored I am. But because Shana and several others said that Don’t Fear the Reaper stayed with them, that they loved it, that in some cases, Reaper was one of their favorite reads of 2011, and that they’d probably never forget it.

And I’m totally blown away. Totally.

Not everyone who commented was a reviewer like Shana. For the record, I can’t say just how much I appreciate every book reviewer out there – you guys are amazing, but I’d like to add that reviewers are also readers at heart. They love books every bit as much as writers do. It’s why they take the time to post and maintain blogs and websites and spend countless hours reading. I’m also grateful for every person who has bought Reaper. While I price my books very reasonably, I don’t take any reader’s hard-earned money or valuable time for granted.

Anyway, here I was, reading how Shana, other reviewers, writers, and a few readers just wanted to share their great experience with a book – my book – with others. Let me tell you, there’s no star rating system, no sales numbers, no review that tops that in honors. Not a single one.

And that, my friends, is one of the many reasons why I write. It’s sometimes what motivates me even on the dreariest of days. Yes, yes. Not every person who reads a book will love it, much less like it. That’s perfectly fine. It’s even expected! That’s life, isn’t it? What floats my boat won’t float yours. I respect that. But, we don’t thank each other enough for the positive experiences in our lives, do we? To each and every one of you who bought and commented, read, posted, and shared their thoughts on Don’t Fear the Reaper, I am honestly humbled. From one human being to another, sincerely, thanks for making my part of the universe shine so brightly. I’ve said it in the back of my books before, but I truly mean it. Thank you, Dear Reader. Because every writer with a story to tell writes with you in mind.

Hey, it doesn’t have to be Thanksgiving to show appreciation and gratitude. What are you still doing here? Gratitude and kindness doesn’t have to come in a box or package. It doesn’t have to be served on a plate. Go make someone’s day. You’ll find it can make yours, too.
—-

Be careful how you look at the world. It is like that. ~Erich Heller

 I’d love it if you could do me a favor and take a second to check out my books at these retailers:

Amazon    B&N    iTunes    Kobo    Books A Million    Audible

10 thoughts on “Why I Write – And A Little Appreciation

  1. That was very beautiful Michelle! I love how seriously you take writing and how dedicated you are. It makes readers like me smile. Books are more than just paper and you’ve definitely proved that! I can’t wait to read many more masterpieces from you, and of course get my hands on book 2 😉

  2. You know I loved all 3 of your books but I’m still waiting for “Book of Lost Souls 2”!!! Great heartfelt blog Michelle. 🙂

Leave a Reply

