Wicked Brownies

In my novel, Don’t Fear the Reaper, Keely laments on never being able to taste her mom’s recipe for Wicked Brownies again. Here’s that recipe – super simple to make and super chocolately. It’s actually a boxed recipe that I’ve altered and shared long ago on another message board.

Other than having someone else make them, it can’t get any easier.

You’ll need:

*A box of Ghirardelli Triple Chocolate brownie mix (NOTE! It HAS to be Ghirardelli. I’ve tried this recipe with other mixes and it never comes out tasting half as good. You can use Double Chocolate or Fudge, too.)

*Milk chocolate chips AND semi-sweet chocolate chips (Milk chocolate chips are crucial)

*Chocolate syrup

Now, here’s the modification part:

*Replace the 1/3 cup of oil with 1/3 cup melted butter
* Add in a large handful of MILK chocolate chips, s squirt of chocolate syrup, and a half handful of the semi-sweet chocolate chips.

Next:

* Bake for a few minutes LESS than what the recipe calls for. I usually bake them for about 39 minutes.

They’ll take a while to set (45 minutes to an hour) once they come from the oven, but if you’re like me, you won’t care if you need a fork or spoon.

Don’t forget a cold glass of milk, or maybe a scoop of ice cream! We like vanilla, sea-salt caramel Gelato, or peppermint bark Gelato.

And, don’t forget to click the share button below. Otherwise, everyone will want to eat the brownies you make and there will be none left for you. Tell ‘em to make their own!

Now that you have a killer brownie recipe,  please do me a favor and check out my books on your favorite retailer:

Amazon    B&N    iTunes    Kobo    Books A Million    Audible

21 thoughts on “Wicked Brownies

  1. Pingback: Coffin Hop 2011 & Halloween Giveaway! | Michelle Muto

  2. OMG this sounds delicious!!! Ghirardelli is the ONLY brownie mix I will touch, I can’t wait to try this. May have to make 2 boxes so I can have one all to myself 🙂

    JenniferSmith.ga (at) gmail (dot) com

    • They are so yummy. People won’t believe you when you tell them they came from a boxed recipe.

      A girl I worked with years ago baked wedding cakes on the side. She told me to always use butter instead of oil in cake recipes. I just sort of went with it from there. The extra chips and syrup? I dunno. I’m a recipe tinkerer.

  3. Pingback: Wicked Brownies « Something Written, Something Read

  4. Great recipe! I think the next time I have to make brownies is my daughter’s Halloween party at school — but they wouldn’t appreciate the extra chocolate, right? I should save these for home. 😉

Leave a Reply

