Scary, Creepy Clowns

I’ve never been afraid of clowns, but there are a lot of people who are. A guy I worked with was absolutely terrified of them. When I asked him why, he said it was because he always felt they were hiding behind a mask. I have to admit, some clowns are rather unsettling. Here’s a few.


Stephen King’s Pennywise the clown from IT takes the top spot on creepy clowns as far as I’m concerned. Who can forget Pennywise’s laugh, those teeth, or the way he convinced little Georgie to reach into the sewer to retrieve his paper boat? “Oh, yes, Georgie! They float! They ALL float. And when you’re down here, you’ll float, too!” Google Images of Pennywise here

And then, there’s this theatre release poster of Lon Cheney in clown garb for the 1928 movie, Laugh, Clown, Laugh:

If you want some really creepy shots of Lon Cheney as the clown, check out Google Image Search (as of this posting, the sixth image on the top row is particularly creepy) and IMDB.

Some may recognize the next photo as Bozo the Clown. I never realized until I took a good look at this photo just how creepy he was. Hard to believe anyone would think children would love him, isn’t it? And, is it just me? Has anyone ever noticed a strong resemblance of Pennywise and Bozo? No? Click the Google image link for Pennywise (above), then click this one for Bozo: Google Images of Bozo.

But the clown that is both evil and funny? The award goes to the Postal Service clown in the video:

 

 If you liked this article, please consider doing me a solid and check out my books at your favorite retailer:

Amazon    B&N    iTunes    Kobo    Books A Million    Audible

7 thoughts on “Scary, Creepy Clowns

  1. I even remember a clown/maronette from the show “Fantasy Island” that gave me the heebie-jeebies!!! Never liked clowns. Grandfather (and about 6 of his buddies) played one for Kiwanis. He creeped me out then, too. Ick.

  2. The only clown I like is the one in the Walmart commercial. If you have not seen that look it up on you tube. All clowns need a unicorn in the foot.

  3. My name is R. A. Evans and I am afraid of clowns. This is the group for Clown Phobics, right? I really enjoy your blog, Michelle. Anyone who enjoys talking about fear and the darker side of life (and death) is alright with me.

Leave a Reply

