An Interview With Megg Jensen

Megg is one of those people that you like instantly. You probably know her best from her smash debut, Anathema. She’s smart, funny, and one hell of a writer. Okay, so she’s also a fellow redhead, so that doesn’t hurt, either. So, when I got the chance to interview Megg, I jumped at it. She’s a writing machine, folks! She has four, count ’em, four books out now, and if you read on, you’ll learn about her next book. Color me jealous.

Who is your favorite fictional character and why?

My favorite fictional character is Morgan le Fay, particularly the way she is portrayed as Morgaine in The Mists of Avalon. She’s an even more iconic symbol of the dichotomy of womanhood than Mary Magdelene. Okay, um, my BA in medieval history just waved its little flag, didn’t it? LOL

Most unique or unusual research you’ve ever done for a book?

While writing Anathema, I purchased a book Llewellyn title, “Magical Herbalism.” Wow, it was so interesting to learn more about herbalism and how it plays into mystical beliefs. I’d love to learn even more.

What is your greatest writing strength?

My love for writing. Really, if I didn’t have this deep, down abiding love for spinning stories, then I would be no one. Well, my wild imagination could have something to do with it too.

When did you decide to become an indie author?

December 2010. My friend, indie author Karly Kirkpatrick, had been trying to convince me for months that this was my path. I didn’t believe her, even though I totally supported her when she went indie. The more I read about indie authors, the more I realized that this was exactly what the type of experience I’d wanted as an author. I owe Karly oodles of good vibes for taking my hand and leading me down this awesome path.

What is the hardest part about writing?

I get asked this a lot, and I never tire of answering it. I think the entire process is really freaking hard. Sure, there are days when flow is unending, but there are other days I stare at my marked-up manuscript and wish it would just fix itself into the vision I have for it. I love, love, love every part of the process – but that doesn’t mean it’s easy.

Who are your favorite authors?

Marion Zimmer Bradley, Elizabeth Peters, James Rollins, Alison Goodman, Douglas Preston & Lincoln Child (when they write as a team), A.S. Byatt, Chaucer, Sarra Cannon, Eoin Colfer…to name just a few…I could go on forever!

If you could meet any author who is no longer living, who would it be?

Marion Zimmer Bradley. I corresponded with her once before she died. I treasure that letter.

Why did you decide to write in this genre?

I live and breathe fantasy. My BA is in medieval history. I honestly believe it has a lot to do with growing up in a strict Catholic church. I was fascinated by the history and mysticism of Catholicism. I’m not sure where that came from really. Both my brother and sister are accountants, so, lol, maybe it was just my inner weirdness.

Can you tell us a little about your next project?

Well, on November 25th, I’m releasing the final novel in my Cloud Prophet Trilogy, SEVERED. It will wrap up Reychel’s story in a really interesting, and hopefully unexpected, way.

Outline or panster?

Pantser!

Cats or dogs?

I am a cat person. However, my husband, son, and daughter are all allergic to cats. So I pretend my miniature schnauzer is a cat. It doesn’t work very well. He’s too friendly and doesn’t purr.


You can find all of Meggs’s books on Amazon, Smashwords, and B&N.

One thought on “An Interview With Megg Jensen

Leave a Reply

