Goals and Dreams

Today, I’d like you to give a warm welcome to a longtime writing friend of mine. We first met on author Kelley Armstrong’s on-line writing group (affectionately called the OWG) a few years ago. We share a love of animals, reading, tea, writing goals,and a few other things.

Thanks for being here, Julie! It’s a pleasure.

Michelle, thank you so much for having me here today!

My name is Julie (J.A.) Campbell and I have a confession. I’m a dreamer. One day I had a dream about being a full time author. The next I decided to chase my dream. To help achieve my dream I set some goals.

• Finish novels
• Keep people up at night reading
• Get published by the time I’m 30
• Get an agent
• TOR or DAW (I’m a fantasy author)
• NYT Bestseller list
• Make the Banned Book list
• Be a full time writer

I’ve managed to finish seven novels in the last five years. I’ve kept people up at night writing. I am published and I’m not quite 30. I’ve met the toughest of my goals. What, you say? The toughest ones? Yep. Let me tell you, finishing a novel gets easier every time I do it, but at first it was really damn hard. Getting published traditionally is very difficult these days. Keeping people up at night means you have to write compelling stories. That’s not easy either.

My next goal is to get an agent. The TOR or DAW goal requires the agent. I have specific plans on how to accomplish this. Essentially I’m back to sending out the dreaded query letter.

I’d like to be writing full time in five years. Ambitious yes, but doable as long as I keep writing, keep sending out the queries, keep on keeping on essentially.

I don’t have any specific plans on how to make the banned book list. I just hope it happens someday. I think once I accomplish my other goals, I’ll start working on that one. I don’t think making the banned book list is really something you can set out to accomplish, I think it’s just something that happens. I do know that if I make the list, I’ll have written a damn good book. Look at the company I’ll be keeping.

NYT Bestseller list, yeah… that’s a big dream. I’ll get there, I just need to keep writing.

I’m chasing a dream, despite being told to get a real career, focus on making money, write later, being rejected time and again, and all the other opposition that people throw at me, including myself. Self-doubt is the biggest killer. But being a dreamer, I believe I can do it. I am doing it. (Thank you to all my wonderful friends who have helped me kick my self-doubt in the pants constantly for the last few years).

Being a dreamer is a wonderful, and scary thing. You have to dare to dream, and daring is scary. You have to follow the path less taken, and that’s scary too, but in the end, if you are a dreamer, it’s worth it.

So what about you? What dreams do you have? What are you doing to accomplish them?

Author Bio:
Julie writes fantasy novels. When she’s not out riding her horse, she can usually be found sitting in front of her computer with a cat on her lap and her dog at her side.
Julie’s website

From Senior Year Bites
Fight supernatural crime, it’s what superheros do. Only I’m a vampire, not a superhero. That hasn’t deterred my best friend Steph though, so while I’m trying to survive my last year of high school as a blood-sucking non-hero, she’s dragging me and our other friend around looking for crime. Only there isn’t any, at least not until the murders start.

Where to buy Senior Year Bites:

Amazon UK

Amazon US

Decadent

7 thoughts on “Goals and Dreams

  1. Pingback: Hopes and Dreams « Parchment Place

Leave a Reply

