Author Spotlight: Heather Marie Adkins

There are people you meet through the internet who you instantly take a liking to. They have this way of making friends easily and you’re sure you’d think just as highly of them in real life, too. Fellow author Heather Marie Adkins is one of those people. Not only is she fun to talk to, she’s talented to boot. When she mentioned she was releasing a new book I couldn’t help but ask if she’d like to tell everyone a little about it and herself.

Please welcome Heather Marie Adkins, author of The Temple.

Description: ale Avari has a mysterious past and a laundry list of super-powers, but that’s nothing compared to what she finds upon moving from small town U.S.A to jolly-good England.

A chance dart throw lands her in Quicksilver, an off-the-map place with a big problem – people are dying, and word is, it’s supernatural.

At her new place of employment, a temple dedicated to the ancient Mother Goddess, Vale learns something even more shocking – women guards are disappearing at an alarmingly patterned rate; women who possess special gifts like her own.

Supernatural powers aside, Vale isn’t ready to believe in the Wild Hunt as the culprit, and she’s determined to prove the deaths are acts of human violence.

Plagued by a brute with a history of domestic violence and lusting after a dark-eyed man with a secret, Vale has a limited amount of time to discover the killer before he strikes again. In the process, she’ll learn things aren’t always what they seem and the supernatural might not be so extraordinary after all.

The Hunt could ride for her.

This one is definitely on my TBR list!

Welcome, Heather!
How did you come up with the idea for your book?
A cliche in a long line of cliches…The Temple was a dream. I have vivid, intense dreams and the ones that really stick with me, long after I awake, usually become stories. The actual dream I had is in the novel as one of Vale’s dreams at the beginning of chapter 10.

What do you think readers will appreciate most about your book?
Vale is easy to relate to. She’s dealing with some serious self-image issues, she’s sarcastic and witty, and she tries too hard to be strong. She wants to be independent but she’s scared of being alone. I think that should resonate with most women today; it does with me!

Tell us a bit about your writing process.
I turn on the computer. Putter around the internet. Check Facebook a couple times, refreshing the page to see if there’s anything new. Read a couple blogs. Click back over to my novel document and stare at it until I feel my brain start to sizzle; go think about tweeting. Look at the clock–it’s been fifteen minutes. I hate myself. The self-loathing forces me back to my document. I write.

I’m a notorious procrastinator. If I can find anything else to do, I do, but if I can focus, I can pump out a lot of work in a small amount of time. I usually type out the first draft over a period of time. Anytime I have to close the document and come back later, I’ll read over all that I’ve already written and make any necessary changes before moving forward. I print off my first draft and go through making pen revisions. The second draft gets printed and handed off to my boyfriend for the first round of grammar/typo/spelling checks.

Now, I’ve “hired” a few beta readers who will come in to the process at this point for my future books. From there, more revisions, et voila, ’tis done.

What is different about this book compared to others you’ve written?
Every book I write is different from the others. I am a complete nutcase when it comes to writing–I do not write in one specific genre and I’m great at drawing my book out across three or four different genres before it’s all said and done (one great reason for me to self-pub rather than trad pub!). I do love the paranormal theme, and it can be found in many of my works, but for the most part my books are not alike in content.

What is your greatest writing strength?
Description. I love closing my eyes and putting myself in the scenes I write. I focus on what I feel, smell, hear, and see, putting a lot of effort into sharing those sensations with the readers. Whatever faults I may have in writing, description is not one.

When did you decide to become an indie author?
About a month ago. My dad had been trying to talk me into self-publishing for some time, but I was hesitant. One night, I sat down and ran a Google search. I discovered Amanda Hocking, JA Konrath, Victorine Lieski; but it was Cheryl Shireman that convinced me. This is the field to be in.

What is the hardest part about writing?
Sticking to one WIP at a time! My boyfriend calls it “shiny red ball” syndrome. I get more ideas for books than I can keep up with.

Who are your favorite authors?
Laurell K Hamilton, Kim Harrison, Jennifer Crusie, Jim Butcher, Frances Mayes, Marian Keyes, Cecelia Ahern

Can you tell us a little about your next project?
I am in the middle of an overflow of projects. My next published novel will be a Fantasy called “Abigail.” The protagonist is half-faery/half-human. Her human father sells her into slavery and she ends up in the middle of a war between the faerie and the human family that takes her in. After that is a chick lit titled “Constant State of Disaster.” Of the novels I’m in the process of writing, I have a paranormal thriller with a protagonist who is dead, a Southern chick lit novel, and I’m dabbling in starting a mystery series with a witch heroine and witchcraft theme.

Outline or panster?
They made me do outlines in school.
Outlines are evil and should be burned.

Cats or dogs?
A house isn’t a home without both 🙂 (says the girl with four dogs and five cats…)

Underneath (free short story)
Smashwords

The Temple 99c
Amazon
B&N
Smashwords

Heather on the internet:
http://heather.bishoffs.com
Twitter: @hmarieadkins
Facebook: facebook.com/heathermarieadkinsauthor

4 thoughts on “Author Spotlight: Heather Marie Adkins

  1. Wow! I was just was doing my own form of procrastination on Twitter and came across this blog and started reading it. I can’t quite explain how it feels to be reading a blog about writing (one of my favorite subjects) and see my name in it. It is – all at once – creepy, weird, humbling, and fantastic. The VERY BEST thing about writing (yep – even above the sales) is having the opportunity to encourage other writers. I cannot tell you how much it means to me to know that something I wrote encouraged Heather. When I first started writing a blog, I wanted it to be about more than promoting my own books. So, I decided to use it to encourage other writers. I had no idea if anyone would even read it. Let alone be inspired by it! Thank YOU Heather for letting me know. It really means a great deal to me. Now – everyone – go buy Heather’s book. I already bought my copy!

  2. Ah! Cheryl! You have no idea just how many people you truly inspire with your wit, wisdom, and most of all, your kindness. I’m glad you inspired Heather, too. Of course, you inadvertently added another book to my TBR list, and another fab author to follow, LOL!

Leave a Reply

