Author Spotlight: Talia Jager

Don’t you just love the cover of The Ultimate Sacrifice? Doesn’t it make you want to learn more about what’s on the other side of that cover? How about the author behind it? Good! You’re in for a treat, then. Talia was kind enough to join us today to talk about her book.

How did you come up with the idea for your book?
I’m not really sure. I was thinking about writing a paranormal and wanted to do something a little different. I remember thinking “if looks could kill” and then suddenly I had a story!

Tell us a bit about your writing process.
It varies. I have two strategies and depending on what mood I’m in depends on what I’ll do. The first is to sit down with a blank page and just start writing. Many times a story emerges. The second is when I think of a topic I want to write about and plan out certain scenes in my head. So, I think, plan, write, and then repeat a few thousand times.

What is different about this book compared to others you’ve written?
This one has a paranormal aspect to it. It’s still YA, still has a lot of drama in it, but this time the drama is happening to teens who have special gifts.

Most unique or unusual research you’ve ever done for a book?
I’ve had to do a lot of medical research for three of my books, the most unique being my epilepsy book. The brain is an amazing organ and we have so much to learn about it.

When did you decide to become an indie author?
I tried sending some queries out, but never got an agent that was interested in what I wrote. My husband kept telling me that eBooks are the future. I finally gave in and tried the self-publishing thing. So far, so good!

Who inspired you to write this book?
Technically, my husband. He really wanted me to write a paranormal. Once I started it though, I really got into it and loved writing the story.

Why did you decide to write in this genre?
I’ve always read YA, maybe that’s why I write it. The teen mind is awesome. I love that it’s usually raw and passionate. One reason I enjoy writing YA is it’s filled with ‘firsts’. First love, first high school experience, first kiss, first experimentation with… (a number of different things).

Can you tell us a little about your next project?
I have three, all going at the same time. All three are YA books. One is a vampire story, one is a sequel to The Ultimate Sacrifice, and the last is an edgy drama.

Want to know where you can find Talia and where to buy her book?

Talia’s blog
Amazon
B&N
iBook

One thought on “Author Spotlight: Talia Jager

Leave a Reply

