Trouble Down South and Other Stories

Like Southern fiction? Author Katrina Parker Williams has a great short story collection that is sure to satisfy the craving. From murder and injustice to redemption – and even humor are woven into her tales of the human spirit. Her book, Trouble Down South and Other Stories is available as both an ebook and in paperback.

Welcome Katrina! It’s great to have you on the blog today! Thanks so much for the interview!

Who inspired you to write this book? Trouble Down South and Other Stories, my short story collection, was inspired by my mother. We would have discussions of her family’s past, and I wanted to try to capture the essence of her recollections in these stories. Seven of the short stories in the collection Trouble Down South and Other Stories have been previously published in literary magazines and journals. When I realized there was a unifying theme that ran through all of the stories, I figured they’d make a good collection.

Why did you decide to write in this genre? I tried to think of stories that appealed to me, and historical fiction has always been my favorite genre. I began to write in that genre.

Who is your favorite fictional character and why? I probably identify with the character Buford Tee from two of the short stories in Trouble Down South and Other Stories. I drew upon some of my own characteristics when I created him. I also gave him some qualities I wish I had.

What is the hardest part about writing? Having enough time in the day to sit down and put ideas on paper. With work and family, it is not easy to find the free time to do that.

When did you decide to become an indie author? I self-published my first novel, Liquor House Music, in 2004 after receiving rejection letters from several publishers. After that I started submitting my short stories to literary magazines, and they were getting published. When I discovered there was a unifying theme running through the stories, I decided to publish them as a collection.

Who are your favorite authors? I like Toni Morrison, Ernest Gaines, Sue Monk Kidd, and Terry McMillan.

Can you tell us a little about your next project? I have just published a short story on Amazon, Missus Buck. If readers liked “Slave Auction” and “Rock” from Trouble Down South and Other Stories, they’re going to love to hate Missus Buck, a 6850-word short story about an elderly woman, advanced in years, who fosters a spirit of hostility toward her daughter-in-law because she believes her to be a commoner. Their family descending from German aristocracy, Missus Buck believes her son has married beneath him when he weds Missus Julie, who feels the sting of her disapproval even from the first day she met her. Missus Buck shows no mercy towards Missus Julie’s slaves and squares off with Missus Julie’s favored slave, the feisty Rubeline.

Want to know more about Katrina and her books?

Katrina Parker Williams maintains a blog at http://troubledownsouth.wordpress.com/. She is the author of a short story collection titled Trouble Down South and Other Stories and a fictional novel titled Liquor House Music. Her short stories and articles have appeared online in literary journals and magazines, including Charlotte Viewpoint, Muscadine Lines, and the Dead Mule School of Southern Literature.

Purchase Books at These Links:
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias%3Ddigital-text&field-keywords=katrina+parker+williams

Read more about Katrina’s Writings at these links:
Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/1067900.Katrina_Parker_Williams
Blog: http://troubledownsouth.wordpress.com/

2 thoughts on “Trouble Down South and Other Stories

Leave a Reply

