Welcome, Fall!

Usually, I talk about all things writing and try not to veer off topic. After all, this is a blog about writing. I’m also not one to post about more personal areas of my life. But today, I’ll digress.

For those who know me, Fall is my absolute favorite time of the year. I have always loved changes of season and there’s something about Fall that makes my spirits soar. Maybe it’s the sights: the gorgeous oranges, yellow-gold, and crimson the leaves turn come mid October, all shimmering and dancing on the breeze. Maybe it’s the cool air that invigorates me after a summer of unbearable heat, bugs, and sweat. Or, the sounds of Fall itself. Autumn has a stillness to it unlike any other season except Winter. I love to sit and listen to the rhythmic breeze in the leaves, and the sound of distant hawks or crows. Maybe it’s the foods more commonly associated with Fall. I love apples. Wait, that’s an understatement. I’m an apple fanatic. The crunch and sweetness of a fresh Honeycrisp apple is like tasting heaven. And, there’s nothing better than apple pie with caramel. My comfort drink is a mug of hot, spiced apple cider, especially if I’m sitting outside at night in the cool air mesmerized by a crackling fire in the chiminea. Yeah, there’s chocolate, too. And, seeing as I have always loved scary movies and books and anything else about the supernatural, I’m a Halloween fan. The holiday, NOT the movie, but that’s another topic.

Yes, I realize that October 1 isn’t the official first day of Autumn. But, where I live, it’s the first day I could step outside and know that my favorite season has returned. So, pardon my excursion from the subject of writing this round. Autumn has come home.

6 thoughts on “Welcome, Fall!

  1. Great photos, Michelle. I love So Cal, but I do miss the turning of the leaves. It’s amazing to be able to spend Christmas day at the beach with my mom & daughter every year, but there’s something special about watching nature change the world right before your eyes.

    Thanks for the post.

    • Although I grew up in the North, I lived in Florida for many years. I think it was one of the reasons I felt depressed on Christmas – it was too warm!

      I’m in Georgia now, where there’s more of a change of seasons. Here, or North Carolina is the furthest north I can convince hubby to move since he lived his entire life in Florida.

  2. Fall is my time of year too…it’s cool and crisp and fresh outside! It’s also beautiful! I live in a country town where there are plenty of trees turning shades of gold, orange and red…it’s lovely!

  3. I could have written this post, lol. Yes, love fall – the colors, the crispness in the air, the foods. It’s the perfect season, not too hot or cold and lots of color.

  4. I love the pictures. They remind me of the road I travel here where all the trees are intermingled with various colours and it’s breathtaking. I especiallly love the red ones. They just seem to stand out in a sea of greens, oranges, yellows, and rust colors. I love the foods, the squash, the turkey dinner, the apples, the hot cider, hot chocolate which warms the soul…all comfort foods.
    And, thanks for the comment on my blog…seems we have much in common! 🙂

Leave a Reply

