Summer, Sweat, and Shiny New Ideas

Confession: I finished editing a manuscript about a week and a half ago and I haven’t written a word since.

Well, I haven’t put anything to paper or screen. We’ve already discussed that writers are always working, and I do have a shiny new idea that I’m mulling over. When I sit down to write again, I have no idea if I’ll start working on the New Idea or pick up on another manuscript I’m 23,000 words into.

What I am doing are those pesky life things that I’ve pretty much ignored the past few months. While working on revisions, I made sure to add chores I could do later to a to-do list. Wow! I never realized how enormous the list had become.

Mostly, it’s home projects – painting and reorganizing. Weeding out things (you never know what you’ll find in closets, attics, or basements). But, some to-dos are bigger projects. I’m dreading some of them because it’s hotter than brimstone here in the south and I don’t do summer. Summer is my least favorite time of the year. It’s hot and miserable. I don’t like sweat running down my face. I hate what humidity does to my hair. Frying my legs on car seats isn’t my idea of fun. I don’t like taking the time to rub in lotion-based self-tanners just so I won’t blind aircraft with the brightness of my legs. Outside projects, like repainting the window sills, require me to be out when the sun is most brutal, or the evening when it’s at least down to a balmy eighty-something. Of course, that’s when the mosquitos are at their worst. Swatting at mosquitos while painting is NOT productive.

I really, really hate summer. I think I last enjoyed summer as a kid during summer break. There’s always something about being a kid in the summertime, don’t you think? *insert shiny new idea evil grin*

Anyway, all this infernal heat means I’m procrastinating working outside. Right now, there are a fair few things that should keep me busy inside. Painting still reigns at the top of the list, but so does redoing the bathroom shower grout, replacing some laminate in the basement, and a few other things. I’ve also started querying Reaper again. I had set querying aside since late spring to work on revisions to Souls.

All these projects give me time to listen to audio books and think about that shiny new idea – a story about youth, summer, an old house, lots of chilly drafts, and things you’d best not go looking for.

6 thoughts on “Summer, Sweat, and Shiny New Ideas

  1. Yes, I totally sympathize with you…I hate the heat as well, but I like the summer cause it means I’m off of work!

    I just finished revisions as well and went through a period of not writing…maybe it has something to do with the energy that we put into the revisions that makes us put writing on the backburner for a while.

  2. I think it’s a good thing to go without words for a period of time. It takes the pressure off and allows you to just let the ideas mull around for a bit.

    Also ,those pesky things in life really to pile up to an impressive to do list – it’s always good to get a few of them crossed off once in a while. 😉

  3. I enjoyed your blog today Michelle. I actually grinned most of the way through it, thinking about my own summer re-painting the siding on the whole house to make it look pretty again, in temperatures hot enough to sweat, and mosquito bites all over. The funny part was after swatting at mosquitos and getting tanned, that I had all these white dots on my arms where the paint had splattered, preventing that dot from an even tan, haha! I looked like ‘spot’ for a few weeks.
    I also have been pushing myself like crazy lately, writing and re-writing, and feel a little burnt out, not wanting to write anything for the past couple of days.
    I say take the break, do some of your ‘to do list’, and give yourself some ‘me’ time. You’ll tackle everything with more energy and zest.
    Great blog, thanks for the smiles. 🙂

    • LOL! Painters unite!

      That’s hilarious about the small spots. I ended up with much larger ones, and several smears. I sort of looked like I’d been playing paintball. I’ve decided that the outside painting will have to wait until October – or at least whenever it gets cool enough outside to tackle the painting in the afternoon. Which, may be even later than October because here in the south, someone set the temp to broil.
      Of course, I’ll be cursing the painting, then too. I’ll most likely be waist deep in writing something new by then and when that happens, I’m totally immersed in the project.
      Ah! The life and mindset of writers. Thanks so much for posting!

  4. Well, I think you deserve a break. Editing and rewrites can be exhausting. I wish you the best with the resubmission and the queries. Once you’ve had a little time off, that shiny new idea will flow like water. It’ll feel good to create something new again.

    • I think every writer need a short break. It really helps clear the mind and the time away from the keyboard means time spent in the world picking up on things we’d like to incorporate into our work.

      Plus, I ‘ve found the value in really hashing out new ideas for a while before rushing in. Saves time in the long run.

      Thanks for the wishes. I’m really hoping it all comes together soon.

Leave a Reply

