Summer Reading


It’s hard to believe that it’s the middle of July. Where did the summer go?

For many, it’s a time for vacations, catching up on home projects, and summer reading.

What are you reading now, and what books would you recommend to others?

I’ve been editing lately, so I haven’t read as much as I’d like to. Here’s my picks: Finger Lickin’ Fifteen by Janet Evanovich and Always Looking Up by Michael J. Fox. Looking for a classic? I recommend The Haunting of Hill House by Shirley Jackson.

18 thoughts on “Summer Reading

  1. Its a tricky one this, it depends what you want. I’ve just enjoyed the new Mike Shevdon novel, The Road to Bedlam. The first Sixty One Nails may well be available outside the UK. It’s very different to a lot of the UF out there currently, more Neverwhere than anything else.

    Ooohhh also just finished the new Darren Shan, City of Snakes if you want something else a little different.

    Other than that there’s Rowena Cory Daniels if you want some epic fantasy, Holy Warrior by Angus Donald if you want some Historical Fiction.

    For the young reader in your life, Lili St Crow’s Jealousy, Michael Scott’s Necromancer.

    • Ah! I knew you’d have some excellent suggestions! Thanks, Gareth.

      P.S. The book I just finished revisions on has a character named Gareth. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Hey Michelle,
    Right now I’m reading four different books depending on my mood. Don’t laugh but I’m reading The Complete Idiot’s Guide to Writing a Novel, Burned by P.C.Cast & Kristen Cast, Tales of the Otherworld by Kelley Armstrong, and The Summoning by Kelley Armstrong.
    Very nice site, my first time on it. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Not laughing at all! I have a few Idiots & Dummy guides to various things around the house. One is on grammar, lol! It’s a great one to keep around for review and quick look-up.

      The Summoning was great! And thanks for reminding me about P.C. Cast – I keep meaning to read them.

  3. Summer reading, huh? Well, I’m always up for reading anything, so mostly my books are whatever I’m in the mood for. I’m currently reading the Dark-Hunter series by Sherrily Kenyon, interspersed with a few others while I impatiently wait to buy the next Dark-Hunter book. I’m halfway through that sereis, but I’ve also read Waking the Witch by Kelley Armstrong, and I’m currently re-reading Blood Bound by Patricia Briggs because I need to go to B&N to buy Dream Chaser.

    • I do the same thing – I choose books to read depending on my mood. Sometimes I need serious, sometimes I need something lighter, sometimes something funny.

  4. I read quite a few romances over vacay: Assassin (Angela Addams), The Price of Freedom (Jenny … Schwartz?), Amethyst Bound (uh, I really need to pay attention to author names), and The Last Days of a Rake (I think that was the title– apparently I need to remember those too LOL)

    Right now I’m finally reading Made to Be Broken (Kelley Armstrong) and after that I’m going to re-read Hunger Games & Catching Fire in preparation for the release of Mockingjay (Suzanne Collins)

  5. I read Demon Kiss by Lacey Weatherford, it’s a great light read series. I also read Unholy Ghosts by Stacia Kane. It is an excellent UF novel. I highly recommend you read this. x

  6. I have apparently developed a deep obsession with Regency romance. In the last week, I’ve read 4. Lol. The Regency romances I’ve been into have been by: Teresa Medeiros, Sabrina Jeffries, and Sarah MacLean.

    Plus, I’m loving The Strangely Beautiful Tale of Miss Percy Parker by Leanna Renee Hieber – alternate Victorian London with magic and ghosts and mysterious happenings – and I’m currently burning through the sequel, The Darkly Luminous Fight for Persephone Parker. Phew!

  7. I like how you respond to everyone’s comments. It’s really a personal touch that shows you’re reading everything and how you feel about it. ๐Ÿ™‚
    The P.C. Cast books (I’ve read the first 6 in the series) are quite good. I’m on the 7th (just released), although some people might not like them. Her and her daughter write together and they’ve just signed for 6 more in the series, the first one having just been released. So, it must be a good if it’s becoming a 12 book series. They really need to be read in order though in order to understand the story. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Those are definitely on my To Be Read List. Thanks for reminding me. I’ll see if they’re available as Kindle or iBook since I happen to have a gift card of each.

      I do try to respond to everyone’s comments. After all, people took the time to not only visit and read, but to comment. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

