The Light at the End of the Editing Tunnel

I’m not quite done with the editing letter I got a while back from Super Agency. But, I can finally see the finish line.

I have to admit, it’s been a lot of fun. The book I’m editing for Super Agency has quite a bit of humor in it, which is a stark contrast to my latest manuscript. There were times I sat and laughed out loud. The dogs must have thought I’d gone mad.

I’ve been going through the whole MS chapter by chapter, and I think the editorial letter is spot-on. Regardless of how it all turns out, I’m having a major squee moment. It’s amazing what fresh eyes bring to a manuscript.

Anyway, I’m still editing and therefore, I’m still behind in blog posts. So, I thought I’d give everyone another fun video. This one is on… editing letters.

14 thoughts on “The Light at the End of the Editing Tunnel

  1. I’ve seen the vid before — it’s worth the watch 🙂

    Congrats on being near the end. I hope this one works out for you. You have so much talent, and I’m dying for someone to snatch you up 🙂

  2. I’m really happy to hear that you’re almost done! I know you’ve been working hard and I know aswell, that it will pay off.

    I liked the video – it was quite clever!

    I’m just starting my own rewrite now…major work ahead!

    • Yep. Rewrites can be a lot of work, but I really don’t mind editing. Sometimes, it’s easier than being halfway through a first draft. Murky middles are my least favorite part of the process.

      Well, not true. Queries. I loathe queries.

    • LOL! That’s a LOT of faith.

      But, yeah. I’ll be glad to send this off. Then, the nail-biting will commence!

  3. Haha. I love laughing at my own work! Somehow when I come across a “funny” part when editing, it seems hilarious (perhaps being over-worked and exhausted has something to do with it?). Though unintentionally dirty things crack me up more. Congrats on the progress 🙂

    • Exhaustion has a LOT to do with it. Wacky characters that I see so vividly in my mind’s eye also help.

      But, there are other times when I go back over something I’ve written and it’s a mistake that strikes me funny. Bloopers for writers?

    • Thanks, Danni!

      I think the rewrites are easier than the waiting. At least this rewrite has helped to take my mind off the queries on the other book. So much so that I’ve taken a short break from sending out any new queries.

  4. Yay, you’re almost done. It’s been a long hard road for you, but I really hope it works out. You’re a good writer and deserve success, so good luck.

  5. The finish line is in sight – yay! The video is hilarious.
    That reminds me of a story, ha ha. One of my short stories was up for consideration and one of the editors at ye semi-famous magazine said he would look at it again if I expanded a certain section. I did, though I wasn’t sure it was the right thing to do for the story. Anyway, I sent it in again and it was rejected by a different editor, who said he wished he had read the first version. That’s why I find the video so funny.

    • You’ve touched on my worst fear… that by the time I’m finished with the revisions, that the agent or her assistant will have moved on.

Leave a Reply

