Epiphany!

For the past five weeks, I’ve been querying a beloved manuscript. It’s received some wonderful feedback-the writing, the concept, the characters. The comments were indeed exceptionally complimentary. They’ve all asked to see future work. But, at the end of the day, it wasn’t quite right for three of the agents who requested the full.

I should have been ecstatic with the high praise they handed out. But, I couldn’t help but feel a little down. Coupled with the sudden disappearance of Mojo, I just haven’t had what it takes to effectively work on the new WIP.

I can’t stand it when I’m not working on something. I’m accomplishment driven.

I have spent two weeks of writing, deleting, rewriting, pacing. Rinse, repeat. Nothing fit. It just wasn’t coming together the way I wanted. Today, the puzzle pieces finally clicked. The Great Epiphany came to me right after breakfast and right before I was heading out the door. I ran for the computer to jot down notes.

For some reason, it always works this way. Shiny new ideas and resolutions come to me at inconvenient times-the shower, the middle of the night, while walking the dogs or while running errands.

I think I’m back on solid ground. I’ll know after I get a few chapters down. The outline should help keep me sailing through to the end after that. I’m back to being totally enthusiastic about this latest WIP.

How do ideas come to you?

P.S.

And that other manuscript? I still have a huge amount of hope. I truly believe in this book. There are still other agents reviewing it. Hopefully, sooner or later, I’ll find one that loves it too.

16 thoughts on “Epiphany!

  1. Oh, you’ll find that agent…I know it!

    My ideas come to me in odd places too…I actually rely on that…I try not to stress about it cause I know that things will pop into my head eventually.

    The shower is one of the usual places…it’s one of the only quiet spots in my house. And driving too…I sometimes zone out and things come to me.

    When I was in university and had an essay to write, I would review all of my research before bed and usually, within a day or two, a thesis would pop in there for me to work on.

    It’s strange but I trust my brain…it’ll work things out for me.

  2. I agree, ideas come at the most bizarre times. I keep a spiral by my bed for the random 3am inspirations. I do a lot of filing at work and there’s something about zoning out and letting my mind wander that allows those ideas to filter up to the top. And, I’ve got to admit, I’ve had more than one epiphany in the shower as well. Where do I get a waterproof notebook? 🙂

  3. I’ve had ideas in the shower and while taking a bath too. Major story ideas sometimes come to me in dreams. If I only have the dream once – it isn’t necessarily a story, but if I dream it twice it likely is.

    Then there’s the third way. A piece of a story -usually the crux will gradually gel in the back of my mind (for years in at least one case) and eventually make it’s way into the light. No wonder it takes me so long to write 🙂

    Best of luck with the novel you’re shopping.

    • Thanks, Diane.

      I dream stuff that sometimes ends up as inspiration. What’s hard is always remembering all the details.

  4. Best of luck with that manuscript!

    Dishes. I’ve finally decided that it must be the mindlessness of washing, rinsing, making sure with a quick glance that nothing’s left; washing dishes leaves my mind open enough for inspiration.

  5. I have ideas pop into my head all the time just before I fall asleep. And I repeat them to myself and say REMEMBER THIS! And then the next morning, I can remember the scene, but not the specifics!! GAH!

    I may have to buy one of Danni’s spiral notebooks. It can be a test of how well I write in the dark!

    DBR

  6. Ideas pop into my head all the time. My recent work started with the idea on the French massacre at Soissons in 1414 after watching a documentary on Agincourt. It morphed from there into the current urban fantasy book.

    In the shower or bath seem to be good places for idea to ferment.

Leave a Reply

