Gratitude

A couple days before Christmas, I received spot-on advice for revisions on my current work in progress. The reviewer was very complementary, but he also gracefully pointed out the story’s weaknesses. So, I’ve been diligently working on revisions since Christmas Eve and I’m now less than two weeks out from my goal of finishing the last of the edits.

It’s taken this long because I’ve been scouring the entire manuscript. I have no idea if the person offering feedback will ever realize it, but he did an amazing thing: he challenged me to be a better writer. Not that he said I wasn’t good – quite the contrary. He handed me some of the best compliments I have ever received. It was those compliments, coupled with a few examples, that made me see that I could be even better. I’m always trying to take that next step in my craft, and this person gave me a map. Regardless of what becomes of this manuscript, I’ll always be thankful.

It’s been a lot of hard work, but I’m pleased with how things turned out. The story is so much the better for the changes I’ve made. I’ve also learned so much from the experience.

Is there someone who has helped you reach your goal of becoming a better writer? Here’s your chance to give them a shout-out.

Thanks, J.M. My shout-out goes to you.

8 thoughts on “Gratitude

  1. I hope that he not only realizes it but that he puts his money where his mouth is…fingers crossed for you.

    On another note…I would like to give a shout out to my cousin, Leslie. Without her I would have given up long ago.

    • I have to say, he’s a gem. No matter what happens.

      But, so are my crit partners and beta readers. I have no idea where I’d be without them.

  2. My friend, and fellow writer, Lori Hahnel is a great help to me. Not just because she gives excellent critiques, but because she always supportive. Arlene, another writer friend, also gives helpful critiques and urges me to keep writing. So, I’m very fortunate.

  3. Advice is always welcome and I think the best advice I’ve ever been given was that prior to publication have a second novel ready as by having it ready you can be published again in six months in time for the PB to come out. It gives your name saturation.

  4. Well, I’ve got my crit partners and my writing group, of course. I couldn’t live without them. But in the spirit of your JM shout out, I had an experience with someone in a very similar vein who made me see one of my stories (not my Vampires) in a completely different way. Sometimes, as a writer, I know my story and my characters so well that I forget I have to make sure the reader sees them too.

    • I love it when I see something from a different viewpoint. It is very hard when fully entrenched in a story. I’m always thankful to people who point out some new angle or some other thing I might not have thought of.

Leave a Reply

