Vampires and Werewolves and Zombies! Oh, My!

While a lot of agent and publishing blogs say that vampires are dead, others say that they’ll never really die. Of course, it’s hard to kill what’s already dead, isn’t it? And judging by the popularity of television shows and ratings on Amazon, vampires are still a huge favorite. I suspect they always will be. But, it seems that the publishing world is looking for the next supernatural thing. After the big vampire surge, werewolves were all the rage. Last year, it became zombies.

So, what’s next?

I read on a message board that an agent tweeted she was looking for selkies and mermaids. Months back, Publisher’s Weekly had an article about the publishing world looking for the next dead thing.

I’m curious. Whatever NYC might be looking for, I’d like to know what YOU want to read. What kinds of supernatural beings interest you?

Here’s the last of the kitty cartoons:
Picture 1

4 thoughts on “Vampires and Werewolves and Zombies! Oh, My!

  1. Funnily enough theres a book coming out called Tempest Rising by Nicole Peeler in October that has a Selkie as the principle protagonista which is pretty good fun, some of the cast you’ll really want to get to know.

    As to the next big thing, I’m not sure, Steampunk seems to be making a bit of a comeback with Soulless by Gail Carriger with a principle protagonista who’s gift allows her to nullify other supe’s abilities, ie a vamp loses his lust for blood and his fangs, ie becoming a normal human. Its pretty quirky and I’m still reading through it.

    Likewise you have Dan Abnetts Triumpff coming out shortly which might tweak a few interests or Andy Remic’s Kell’s Legend that utilises Clockwork Vamps.

    What the next big “dead” thing will be, I’m not quite sure but there are a few things out there that might tweak a bit of interest, for example I’m utilising bikes made out of dino bones, and the reason that fuel works is due to magic rather than science as its made from what was living things. I’d very much be surprised if something else didn’t come out of that type of area. Or one that I can recommend that might be very quirky for some is John Meaney’s Bone Song and Dark Blood, its a crime fiction set in the future following a Zombie police officer. They’re pretty good in my opinion.

  2. I don’t read paranormal fiction, except for Kelley’s work. The next big trend – who knows? – maybe telepathic leprechauns. 🙂

  3. See, I love vamps and werewolves and magic. But zombies? Eh. There’s just no real appeal there for me. I do have World War Z on my TBR pile, but as general reading material? Not for me. Mermaids? Selkies? *shrug* Maybe, but it would have to be really well done, and I’m not sure I’d want to see them in the roles so often occupied by weres and vamps. For example, I recently did a beta read of a novel in which the water creatures were all bad guys. I enjoyed it a lot. For me though, creatures who are traditionally seen as “good” playing the role of good guys isn’t new, so …

    As for soemthing a little different, I also did a beta of a YA about djinn. It needed work, but I can see that as being a new trend.

    Superheroes seem to be popular as well. I’ve heard a lot of agents say they are getting a ton of guardian angel books (usually, but not always, involving romance between said angel and the one they are guarding).

    I hope vampires aren’t dead – or deader than normal – since I like vampires LOL.

Leave a Reply

