A Shout Out To Writing Partners

A fellow writing friend of mine posted on a guest blog about the value of writing groups. This post is a shout out to everyone in a writing group, is a critique partner, or a beta reader.

My writing partners and beta readers are near and dear to my heart. And while that may sound trite, it’s also true. Without them I wouldn’t be the writer I am today or the writer I’ll be someday. I’ve trusted them with crazy ideas, drafts rougher than a cat’s tongue, and polished manuscripts that I just need one more read on.

But my gratitude doesn’t end there. These people have been there when I needed help writing synopses and queries. They’ve been there to share news of ups and downs. And, along the way, they’ve become more than my writing circle. They’ve become valued friends.

Some say that writing is a solitary way of life. The hours spent hammering out your manuscript might be you and you alone, but if you’ve got the right group, then don’t believe you’re truly alone. Not even for a minute.

Here’s the next kitty cartoon…
Picture 1

6 thoughts on “A Shout Out To Writing Partners

  1. Haha you and I share brains too often. My post this week mentions a specific point that my crit partner helped me through.

    Totally agree though, crit partners and beta readers are a Godsend. Every person who has critiqued my work has given me something useful (that isn’t to say everything they mention is useful, but I don’t think I’ve ever had a crit that gave me nothing). And the couple of people who have beta’d for me helped me see issues that I’d been told were there, but for the life of me, couldn’t understand how to resolve.

    *hugs* to all the CPs and BRs!

  2. Hey Michelle,
    To be honest I really should get back to writing, its been a while since I’ve done any. However when I do, I know that I’m going to need a good group of people behind me. Thats the key.

    With writing being a mainly solitary pursuit, you really need others who can add input and question what you’ve done without the problems of nitpicking just because thier latest piece got slated. Finding the right group is perhaps harder as you need to have a group that you can rely on, will give honest opinions and will help generate feedback that will help you to grow.

    Each person takes critism differently and whilst we all do like getting the old ego stroked, you want critism to tell you where you’ve gone wrong, to ask questions that you might not have asked yourself and above all help you to make the story more watertight than a ducks backside.

    As usual, great advice, and with luck, I’ll get back to things shortly and perhaps get a shout out to my own person group of backers.

  3. Writing partners are the secret ingredient of good writing! I don’t know what I’d do without mine.

    And I love those kitty photos. I had exactly the same thought as the goldfish before I scrolled down and read the caption. Should I be worried?

    DBR

  4. Love the kitty cartoon 🙂

    Yes, without my writing partners I would not be as sane as I am now (not very) nor would I be the writer I am today (unpublished but getting closer every day)

    Julie

  5. My writing partners are awesome. Always there to help with the massive world that is both writing and publishing.

    Without them, i don’t think i’d be at the point with my writing that i am today.

Leave a Reply

