Playlists

I remember browsing through the bookstore last summer when BREAKING DAWN came out. There was an entire table full of Meyer’s new release, along with a sign posting what her playlist was for the TWILIGHT series. Since then, I’ve seen several other writers post a WIP’s playlist.

While I do have playlists for my books, I don’t actually listen to them while writing — only during the very last (and I mean very last) round of edits. It’s kind of a ‘fair well’ party. I do listen to the playlists when I’m not writing — that is, while I’m in the middle of a project, but physically not at the computer. I can’t concentrate if music is playing in the background. I’m one of those writers who has to have relative quiet. Sure, I tune out the TV when hubby is watching 24 or whatever (and sometimes, I tune out hubby, too).

What about you? Do you have a playlist? Do you listen to it while you write?

4 thoughts on “Playlists

  1. To be honest with you, I do have a playlist but Im not sure if its book specific or just songs that inspire me. Occassionally I’ll put the old MP3 on play and type away however its really specific stuff that gets me, for example :
    A maiden fair
    With flaxen hair
    Not once but two times slain.

    That lyric from Grant Lee Phillips really does get me down deep as it makes me ask questions about it. Such as how can you be two times slain etc.

    Likewise if I like a tune, I have, at times, rewritten the song so its specific to what I want. It seems a strange way round I suppose but if you find that kernal that inspires you have to go with it.

  2. I’m like you, Michelle, I can’t work or write with music playing. Not if the work requires any kind of concentration. I have this weird brain that memorizes song lyrics. I know the lyrics to songs I don’t even know I know the lyrics to until I find myself singing along to them. Not that I can actually sing, mind you. Not in polite company . . . or around anybody with ears.

    So if I’m trying to write and a song comes on, I find myself singing the lyrics instead of focusing on what I’m writing. I can tune out just about anything else. I can write in the dentist’s waiting room, at Starbucks, at the airport or on an airplane, but not with music playing in my ear.

    By the way, I LOVE your Quote of the Moment! I wrote it down and saved it for future use. It’s perfect!

  3. I don’t have a play list. I often have a classical FM radio station on, but at a low volume. However, in one of my short stories, I use a very specific piece of music so I played that several times while I was writing the story. And frequently, I prefer only the sound of my fingers on the computer keyboard.

  4. I don’t have a play list, but I that’s only because I no longer listen to music. Plus, I get distracted very easily when I write and it would only make me lose focus on my goal.

    Well….sometimes when I’m writing one of my siblings is playing DDR, so I guess that could be my playlist. :p

    ~ Popin

Leave a Reply

