The Classics, Revisited

A fellow writer mentioned the other day that she was reading Lord Of The Flies. Wow. What a blast from the past. I’ve always loved books, and growing up, I read quite a variety: Lord of the Flies, Huckleberry Finn, Jungle Book, Call of The Wild, White Fang, Little Women, To Kill a Mockingbird, Animal Farm, and a Christmas Carol to name a few.

When I was ten, I read and fell in love Dracula. Since then, I’ve gravitated towards horror/fantasy, (so much so that, for fun, I’ve named my iPhone Edgar Allen Phone) While other kids were out playing, I was reading The Martian Chronicles, Frankenstein, and The Hobbit, along with countless others. Of course, there was the Exorcist when I was thirteen (my mother nearly had a fit when she found out I’d read it). I devoured anything by Stephen King, too.

But I digress. The classics. My all time favorite? Shirley Jackson’s The Haunting of Hill House. I loved the original movie and I read the book a few times afterward.

What are some of your favorite classics?

4 thoughts on “The Classics, Revisited

  1. The oldest title I can remember reading is Where the Red Fern grows, well other than kid’s books like Dr. Seuss and Charlotte’s Web, that is. Although, Dr. Seuss has good memories because the first Dr. Seuss I ever read was a book my Uncle brought to me when I was in the hospital.

    But I digress … Where the Red Fern Grows is about a young boy growing up in the Ozarks who raises two Redbone Coonhunting dogs. When I was little, before we moved to California, my father always had big coonhounds in a kennel next to our house — we lived on a farm at the time. So I read this book and cried and cried. He raises the two dogs from puppies and eventually they defend the boy against a mountain lion or a cougar or something, and one of the dogs dies. The other dog is so heartbroken that she just sits on his grave until she dies too. God, it was so sad. What kind of a person would write such a thing? LOL

  2. I’m not one for books that end badly either. There has to be some sort of happiness or hope. If not, I feel cheated – I’ve invested all that time reading, all that time with the characters.

    And yeah, when it comes to writing sad things about animals, I can’t do it. Not without happy endings.

    I didn’t think I was ever going to get over Old Yeller as a kid.

  3. The Dark is Rising series by Susan Cooper is one of my favorites.

    I loved Where the Red Fern Grows. It makes me weep whenever I read it, though I haven’t read it in years.

    I also loved the Big Red, Outlaw Red, etc series. Don’t remember the author. They were about Irish and English setters in bird dog country. I grew up with both an Irish and an English so it hit pretty close to home.

    My Friend Flicka, another tear jerker, but quite good.

    I also liked the horse books by Margaret Henry who wrote Man of War and all the other famous horse books.

    Oh and the Black Stallion books… OMG yes, and the Thoroughbred books, hmm, Nancy Drew. I liked Nancy Drew because my mom would read them to me. My first books for school in gradeschool were knock off nancy drew mysteries.

    Ok, if I don’t stop now I’ll keep going with childhood loves. I think some of those books are still my favs, even though I now read mostly different books.

  4. L.M. Montgomery (of Anne of Green Gables fame) was a big favorite of mine as a kid. I read all the books multiple times, and always had to watch the mini series whenever PBS played it during their pledge drives. But my all time favorite book of her’s is The Blue Castle. I re-read that at least once a year. A few years back I had to go out and buy myself a new copy, because the one I bought as a pre-teen had finally fallen apart.

    I also regularly re-read The Westing Game by Ellen Raskin. It’s a YA murder mystery first published in 1978. But it’s amazingly un-dated, and complicated enough for an adult to read and enjoy.

Leave a Reply

