Must Have Books For Writers

I’m happily knee-deep in the middle of writing my next book, so during a break to stretch the legs and back, I cleaned my desk. Among the many things I cleared off were books on writing or editing. Every writer who has been at the craft for any length of time has a decent stack of them, but probably only a few favorites.

Self-Editing for Fiction Writers, by Renni Browne & Dave King. This has got to be my all-time favorite.
The Elements of Style, by Strunk & White.
On Writing, by Stephen King.
Description & Setting, by Ron Rozelle.
The First Five Pages, by Noah Lukeman. Once you have finished editing, take a look through the eyes of an agent.

Do you have a favorite that you’d like to recommend?

Quote: I’m not a very good writer, but I’m an excellent rewriter. ~James Michener

What’s on the iPod: The Host, by Stephanie Meyer

7 thoughts on “Must Have Books For Writers

  1. I’ve heard wonderful things about this book and yet, somehow, I’ve never read it. Thanks for the suggestion. It’s on my list now.

  2. love these:
    The Elements of Style, by Strunk & White.
    On Writing, by Stephen King.

    Orson Scott Card has some decent on writing books geared towards fantasy and sci fi that are pretty decent as well.

  3. Hmmm. I’ll have to pop over to Amazon and check out his books. (Psst. that was me on your LJ. Don’t know why it says anon – LOL!)

  4. I have a full shelf of books about writing. How did that happen? Anyway. I also love Bird by Bird and recommend it.

    The Courage to Write by Ralph Keyes is very good too as is Writing Down the Bones by Natalie Goldberg

    The Forest for the Trees, An Editor’s Advice to Writers ,by Betsy Lerner is very down-to-earth.

    Those are a few of my favourites.

  5. A really handy book to have around is The Romance Writers’ Phrase Book by Jean Kent and Candace Shelton. Even if you’re not writing romance, it has thousands of descriptive tags for when you’re looking for a different way to say common things.

  6. I received the Chicago Manual of Style for the holidays and use it a lot.

    Sadly, I won some books on writing on a different blog, but they never sent them 😦 So my books on writing shelf is not very full at the moment. I guess I will have to buy more myself. *sigh*

Leave a Reply

