I’d Like To Read More Of…

After last month’s soapbox, this post will be short – I promise!

In fact, I’m going to let you do the talking. There’s a lot of books out there on shelves all vying for your attention. But is there a particular genre in which you’d like to see more titles? How about characters and story type? Would you like to read more novels about corporate takeovers? Animal memoirs? Certain creatures of the night? Adult fiction or YA? How about darker fiction or more humor/lighter fare?
I’m a fan of most anything paranormal, so I’d love to see more urban fantasy. With a busy schedule and times so bleak, lately I prefer stories that end on a somewhat happier note and less gloom and doom. It can have dark elements, but throw me a laugh or a ‘feel good’ now and then.
What’s playing on the iPod: Music! Yes, I’m actually not listening to an audio book. Will wonders never cease. Mostly, its rock – something with beat. See why below.
What I’m reading:Dreamweaver CS4 for Dummies. Okay, okay. Stop snickering.
My favorite quote this week: If there’s a book you really want to read, but it hasn’t been written yet, then you must write it. ~Toni Morrison
2 thoughts on “I’d Like To Read More Of…

  1. I tend to go in cycles with my reading habits. For years, I read nothing but fantasy and now even the best fantasy writers can’t hold my attention.

    Lately,I’m fascinated with Suzanne Brockmann’s Navy Seal Troubleshooters series. I love the action/adventure/thriller touches mixed in with the relationship aspect. But the problem with saying I want more is that there are other Navy Seal type books out there that just aren’t as good. What makes Brockmann’s books so real is that she’s done her homework and the action sequences are realistic. Others aren’t so diligent.

    What I’d really like to read more of are intelligent mystery/thrillers with a relationship angle. I recent read A Thread of Fear by Laura Griffin, which is just an excellent read. There’s also J.T.Ellison’s series featuring her character Taylor Jackson, who is a homicide detective. These are great mystery thrillers that happen to contain a very well done relationship angle, as well.

    I wish I could find more like that.

    Donna
    (writing as D.B.Reynolds)

  2. I’ll have to check them out. I’ve been reading a lot of the Stephanie Plum series over the holidays. While I enjoy traditional mysteries, the humor and craziness is a lot of fun – escapism. But I’ve also been reading some sci-fi, legal thrillers, and literary.

Leave a Reply

