First Post

 I’m a fairly private person, so you won’t find a lot about my personal life here. Trust me, there’s nothing about my life that’s all that exciting. I work, I come home, I spend a couple hours with hubby and the dogs, then I write, edit, read a little. Cut paste. On the weekends, I run errands and do house stuff and write and edit some more. My life could bore the dead.

But I digress. What you will find here are posts about writing, which is the main reason I created this blog. In the future, I hope to post helpful pointers and tips and provide links to informative sites. So, grab a favorite beverage  and pull up a chair. Got a tip or bit of advice? Maybe you have great news about that agent you’ve been trying to snag or a big deal you’d like to brag on. Or, maybe you just want a place to get a little encouragement or lament about rejections.

I’ll post updates and different topics for discussion when the mood hits or I have time. Let’s be real, shall we? If I’m sitting in front of a screen then my time is better spent writing than writing about writing. Agree? Good. We’ll all get along nicely.  I have only one rule here and that is to be respectful. That means no spamming, no blasting others. I expect professionalism. Humor, encouragement, and wisdom are always welcome.

Okay, enough for today. Pictures and more links coming soon. Right now I’ve got to work on the proposal for the second YA urban fantasy I’m working on. My deadline is this weekend, not because I have an agent – I just think deadlines are an important part of writing. Without them, procrastination takes over.
Do you set deadlines for yourself? Why or why not?

Quote: And by the way, everything in life is writable if you have the outgoing guts to do it and the imagination to improvise. The worse enemy to creativity is self-doubt. ~Sylvia Plath

2 thoughts on “First Post

  1. Hi Michelle!

    Congratulations on the new blog!
    I’m your first official commenter on your first official post.

    Do I set deadlines for myself? Not really. Thus far (fingers crossed), my writing has driven itself (and me) hard enough that I haven’t needed to set any deadlines.

    The one exception is my current WIP, which is the third volume of my vampire series for ImaJinn. That book has a contracted deadline of August 1, 2009, which means the control freak in me has kicked in and insisted I have a first draft by the end of this year.

    Happy Blogging!

    Donna
    (D.B.Reynolds)

  2. Thanks, Donna! It’s so good to see you here. Yes, I have to admit that if I were half as prolific as you, I probably wouldn’t set deadlines. I’m envious of how quickly you write and write well!

Leave a Reply

